Revival

DSC_0212 copy2

On January 1st I began a 365 project with other photographers as a way to improve my skills, make photographer friends and just for fun. I was determined to finish. I failed. Somewhere between beaches this summer I fell WAY behind and have never been able to get back to it. About the time I was giving it up a photographer friend of mine emailed me and had just discovered my project. She expressed an interest in doing one herself.

Well, this week she began and she was/is looking for others to do it with her. I think I’m going to join in…but I’m not promising daily posts. I’m not going to stress about it. I’m just going to have fun, try some new things and if I miss a day – I won’t stress over it.

Oh, and I most definitely don’t promise not to cheat. Some day’s my picture won’t have come from that day. Sorry, it just won’t always happen that way. Feel free to critique away. Just be nice about it. Constructive I can take, its helpful and welcome. Nothing I post do I deem perfect. Right now I’m already listing a bunch of things I wish I had done differently or wonder how I could have done better.

To be completely honest, I am not 100% thrilled with these. I only had a few minutes with the butterfly this afternoon. I still have it so as long as its not eaten up by bugs by the morning I may give a second go at it. It was dead on the side of the road being eaten by ants and I brought it home. It was too beautiful to leave behind but I found it difficult to shoot. Sometimes I think the hardest pictures to take are the simplest ones like this. Or maybe I make it more difficult than it is.

You tell me.

So, lets call this a revival of sorts. We will see how it goes.

DSC_0219 copy

{And one more piece of business. I am thinking of creating a separate page for this, I’ll put a post up when I do. I just don’t want to fill my home page with these daily posts. }

One comment

  1. Lacey McKay · October 19, 2010

    Yay! Yay! Yay!!!!! I’m so excited to read this! I think these images are gorgeous! Very creative! And yes, please don’t stress about it. I’m going to try and keep mine as carefree as possible! If I think too much about it, I’ll burn out quickly. I’m just photographing the first thing that looks interesting to me.

Leave a Reply

