At the End of the Day

DSC_0133 copy small

Lately it seems I have been in a bit of a slump. I am tired, and I feel like I never have enough time to do it all. Its just the ups and downs of life, and then the other day I had an epiphany. Anthony was out of town. It had been a long day. The kids were pushing every last one of my buttons. I was tired and part of me just wanted to run away and have a few hours to myself.

That wasn’t an option. So instead of my first instinct to run and hide I told the girls to go and get some books and each of my kids snuggled in next to me (or on top of me) and we read stories. We even sang songs. And as the evening was coming to a close they told me how much they loved me. My heart swelled. And I knew, once again, that I loved them. But THAT wasn’t the epiphany. The epiphany was something I already knew, but had forgotten somehow. I realized that no matter how bad the day, no matter how tired I am…at the end of the day I have these three kids. Amazing kids. Blessings. These three kids tell me they love me even when I haven’t been the best of moms that day. These kids inspire me to be a better mom – today, tomorrow, and the next day. These kids are mine. They always will be, forever. No one can take away the fact that I am Bella’s Mom, Natalie’s Mom or Ethan’s Mom.

At the end of the day I am blessed beyond imagining by these three beautiful spirits. And that fact alone is enough to make me smile – good day or bad.

2 comments

  1. Natalie · October 22, 2010

    You are right they are yours…but I will share a lesson I have been learning….they are His too, as in our Heavenly Father’s. (not that I didn’t know that before…but I’m just coming to a greater realization of what that means) He has a great interest in how they are and how they are raised. He gave them to you because He knows you can do it, and He will help you through when you feel like you aren’t enough. I’ve had Him on speed dial lately 🙂 You are a great mom…you can see it in your kids faces!! I aspire to be more like you when I grow up 🙂

  2. jcraiker · October 22, 2010

    Oh Natalie, yet another epiphany. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

