Ring Around the Rosie

I have really enjoyed thinking about these “I’m thankful fors…” I like how when I start the day if I don’t know what I am going to say in my night’s post it just comes to me in the plain and simple moments of my day. It comes to me quietly and I’m filled with an overwhelming sense of gratitude…for whatever it may be.

Today it came as I was crossing through an intersection on my way home from Walgreens. Suddenly in the middle of the intersection I was filled with a renewed appreciation that I am a stay at home mom. When Anthony and I married this was always the plan. When we had Isabella it was very difficult for me to return to work. I hated leaving her. About five and a half years ago I was able to begin doing what I always wanted to do – be a stay at home mom.

Many times I complain more than I should. It isn’t easy, it is harder than I anticipated, but it never fails day in day out that something small happens to remind me of why I wanted to do this. I am so thankful that Anthony supports me in doing this. He works hard to support our family and has a lot of weight on him to be the sole provider for the family. He never complains about that responsibility. Because of him among the chaos and mundane, even some unpleasant, moments of day to day life…I get to be there for moments like this on a daily basis –

DSC_1025 copy small

Today it was a spontaneous game of ring around the rosie. The girl’s way of including their brother in a game. As you can see, he loved it. There were giggles, squeals and pure happiness in the play room this afternoon. It was a moment filled with the magic of childhood.

DSC_1071 copy small

I love that I get to experience every moment of childhood with my children. I am glad to be here when they need a hug, even a little discipline.  I’m glad to be standing at the bus stop to welcome them home.

DSC_1152 copy small

I am thankful to be spending my days where I am.

2 comments

  1. Michele Wilkinson · November 10, 2010

    I just LOVE these kind of mom moments. I am so glad that you had our camera. That is absoulutley precious! Good job mom!

  2. Barbara · November 10, 2010

    Ditto to all that about being a stay at home mom! Yes I do complain from time to time but I wouldn’t have it any other way. You are such an amazing mom and some day your kids will know how good they had it having a stay at home mom. Bella looks so grown up in these pictures.

Leave a Reply

