Thanksgiving

A few nights before Thanksgiving my mother-in-law sent us a book, and as I read it to my kids I had a hard time not being emotional. So I wanted to share a few quotes from it in my Thanksgiving post. Ideally I would have posted this Thanksgiving night, so lets just pretend I did. (They come from the book Grateful, by John Bucchino)

“I’ve got a roof over my head. I’ve got a warm place to sleep. Some nights I lie awake counting gifts instead of counting sheep.”

DSC_1899 copy

“In a city of strangers, I’ve got a family of friends.”

“Its not that I don’t want a log, or hope for more or dream of more. But giving thanks for what I’ve got makes me so much happier than keeping score.”

DSC_1914 copy small DSC_1939 copy small

“In a world that can bring pain, I will still take each chance…”

DSC_1976 copy small

“For I believe that whatever the terrain our feet can learn to dance.”

DSC_1925 copy small DSC_1962 copy small

“Grateful, grateful, truly grateful I am. Grateful, grateful, truly blessed and duly Grateful.”

As you can see we had a fabulous Thanksgiving celebration. Near the end of the day Natalie came up to me and asked, “Mom are our friends our family too?” And what did we tell her? “Yes, they are.”

Leave a Reply

