7 Weeks and Counting…

…until SUMMER!

I am dreaming of the lazy days of summer. Not having to set my alarm or rush out the door. Having time for fun projects with the girls, or spending the afternoon laying around watching movies. Daily visits to the pool. Weekly visits to the beach. Tanned kids, popsicles in the afternoon, late nights and lazy mornings. Its all coming in 7 short weeks. I have been pinning on pinterest fun summer activities for weeks. I. Love. Summer.

But, I must say, I love school too.

When August rolls around I’ll be ready to return to the routine of school. Ready for the schedule, ready to meet new teachers, see my kids experience new things, ready to see what they’ll achieve in the coming year.

We have been at this school thing now for 4 years. Next year all 3 kids will go. I can’t believe ALL My children will be in school. I look forward to being free to volunteer at the school, being free to get my runs while they’re at school, but mostly I look forward to seeing what they can achieve. To see what interests they find, what friends they’ll make, and what experiences they’ll have. I see school as an adventure.

This year Bella has really excelled. She likes to tell me she doesn’t like school because “its too much work” but, then she goes and asks her teacher for additional assignments like a report on ants. Her reading has progressed to a really great level for her age and she plans to spend the summer reading a whole list of great books. Their school has a reading program called AR (Accelerated Reader) where they read books and then take tests over them and earn points. Each grade has a different point goal and the teachers encourage the students to participate and reach that goal. Bella’s goal this year was 50. She reached that by Christmas and to date she’s just under 150. I can’t believe next year she’ll be in 3rd grade. I have been told that the jump from 2nd grade to 3rd grade but I am confident she is up for the challenge. She is also playing soccer again this spring and I believe it is helping her gain some confidence in herself. Her first game is this Saturday and she is so excited.

Watching Natalie embrace school and enjoy Kindergarten to its fullest extent has been so much fun. She loves school. She loves her teacher. She wakes up each morning with such excitement and is always so sad if its a day off or she’s sick. She’s really blossomed into a good little reader, she’s beginning to like to write stories and her artwork is pretty great for her age. She also has been taking piano since school started and has amazed us at how well she is doing. I will write more about that in a few weeks when she performs in her first recital.

Ethan isn’t in school this year, but next year he will be. I can’t believe I will have all 3 of my kids in school. I worry about him in school because he has been such a handful, but I think he will do just fine. He is so excited to go and is already insisting that his backpack and lunch box be his favorite color – green. The only issue right now is he is insistent that I stay with him there. He doesn’t understand that I will go home and when I try to tell him that Mommy will come back to get him he just says, “No, you will just stay with me.”

So, I love summer, I love school. But whenever one is coming to a close I am ready to move on and enjoy the next part of the year. And as far as the year goes I need to make a new resolution…take more pictures. I can’t believe I have been bad at that this year, but I guess with us running this way and that I just haven’t taken the camera out as much as I should. I need to capture these kids how they are now…today…because they are pretty darn amazing. I can’t wait to spend my summer with them.

Leave a Reply

