Fun in a Box

DSC_1257 copy small

Today I am thankful for the big box that showed up at my door from my sister-in-law Meredith and her kids because it gave us a fun memory. A few weeks ago she and I were chatting on facebook and I was telling her about THIS great blog I read written by a fabulous and inspiring mom here in Florida. (If you haven’t read her blog, I am warning you, you’ll be hooked.) My sister-in-law told me how they’d been raking leaves and I told her how I missed fall leaves but how this blogger had leaves shipped to her by a family member and how I thought it was such a fun idea.

And can you believe LEAVES where in that big box that showed up today? It was perfect. It was fun and it was memorable. We waited for that golden moment of the day to go outside and enjoy our package.

DSC_1319 copy small

And as you can see the kids did indeed enjoy it. There was laughter, squeals and joy.

DSC_1237 copy small

We played until it was time to come in for dinner.

DSC_1339 copy small

And, in addition to the fun package (and its senders) that arrived at my door today –

I am grateful for these 3 who love each other so deeply. They truly love one another. They play so well and so hard. And if you ask them what they’d like to do in a given day they’ll answer they want to be together, and I pray that never changes.

DSC_1342 copy small

3 comments

  1. Megan · November 17, 2010

    What a fabulous idea!!! And an equally fabulous sister-in-law.

  2. Meredith Brough · November 17, 2010

    Thank you so much for posting this! You filled me up with joy. These pictures are beautiful. Yay! You had fun together! I love you guys! Your cousins packed the leaves in the bags for you! We love you! Love, Aunt Meredith xxoo

  3. Debbie · November 17, 2010

    So much fun. And way to go Meridith. We love all you kids.

Leave a comment